A little about me …

This is the Tour To Tanglewood 2013. This is a ride to raise money and awareness of Multiple Sclerosis. I rode 66 miles on the first day and 50 the next. I raised $500.00 and hope to at least double that this year.
This is the Tour To Tanglewood 2013. This is a ride to raise money and awareness of Multiple Sclerosis. I rode 66 miles on the first day and 50 the next. I raised $500.00 and hope to at least double that this year.

In order for anyone to get to know me, they should hop on a bike and ride with me. I love being on my bicycle – for hours at a time! I haven’t always been into cycling, but after my deployment to Afghanistan in 2010 with the Army Reserve, my foot just didn’t like running anymore. Running became painful and I became depressed and unmotivated. In the beginning of 2013, I decided to buy a bike. Like most people, I didn’t know what I wanted or needed. I bought a nice mountain bike. I loved riding it. I took it to Salem Lake and as I got better, I went around the lake twice. Next, I started riding on the road and quickly realized that I was not on the right type of bike! During a military tribute ride in the 2013 Winston Salem Cycle Classic, I met a great veteran who happens to run an organization that uses cycling as rehabilitation for wounded vets. He donated a road bike to me a few months later, and I put 1,000 miles on it before I donated it back to him and purchased a new one.

After starting on a bike three months prior, I was riding in the Winston Salem Cycle Classic in the Military Tribute ride. Those 7 miles felt like 20 on my mountain bike!
After starting on a bike three months prior, I was riding in the Winston Salem Cycle Classic in the Military Tribute ride. Those 7 miles felt like 20 on my mountain bike!

Not only did I ride, I lost a lot of weight. I was starting to feel vibrant and happy and excited about life again. Whoa! Who knew a bicycle could do all that? I sure didn’t. I’ve been hooked ever since. Even today, I went on a 17-mile ride around my neighborhood. I tackled familiar hills (all of which give me a total of 1,100 ft elevation gain) and enjoyed the sun on my face. The wind could have eased up a bit! Headwinds on a ride are mother nature’s evil tricks.

Riding has presented so many cool opportunities. I’ve gotten to ride with great people, wounded warriors and some really cool cyclists. As a part of Operation Shifting Gears, I was invited to ride in the 2013 Hincapie Gran Fondo in Greenville, S.C. last October. It was colder than I could have imagined, but awesome at the same time. After the ride, George Hincapie signed jerseys for us. Here I am in mine:

Here I am in my autographed jersey. It says "To Christina, George Hincapie"
Here I am in my autographed jersey. It says “To Christina, George Hincapie”

I am so excited to see what this year holds. So far, I was able to ride with the Warrior Ride for two days in Virginia Beach, Chesapeake and Norfolk last week. Those guys and gals are so inspiring!

2 thoughts on “A little about me …”

  1. I’ll hop on a bike and ride with you! Your story has reached me at a good time. I have been training for the Tour de Cure coming up, and weight loss, and health and fitness and…the list goes on. So, I see through you and your story that gift of riding just keeps on giving. I am super sore tonight after my 13 mile trip. Thanks for sharing your info! A reminder to stick with it!

    1. Hi! I am so glad my blog is inspiring to you!!! I rode a lot over the past couple days and I am so sore. That’s just my body getting stronger. Make sure you eat right. Do not under eat while cycling. If you are trying to lose weight, use My Fitness Pal or something like it. This way, you can make sure you are getting enough calories to sustain the exercise you are doing. I appreciate you riding the Tour de Cure. A good friend of mine has a son with type 1 diabetes. It’s a great cause and deserves much attention. Good luck and comment often. I’d like to keep up with your journey as well 🙂

      Christina

Leave a Reply

