R2R Memorial Ride Day 3

Riders of Ride 2 Recovery move through the final miles of the 62 mile trek from Fredericksburg, Virginia to Glen Allen, Virginia.
Riders of Ride 2 Recovery move through the final miles of the 62 mile trek from Fredericksburg, Virginia to Glen Allen, Virginia.

Sixty-two miles, 90 degree heat, numerous towns and amazing people are elements of today’s ride. I am finding it so difficult to really put my feelings into words.

As I’ve stated in an earlier post, as a veteran I do not expect any of this, but my heart is so very thankful that I have been blessed with these experiences.

Today I was able to join an awesome group of veterans ride, that for many is a personal record for a single-ride distance, as well as ride with a silver medal U.S. Olympic cyclist! That’s right … I got to ride with Dotsie Bausch of the 2012 Women’s

Riders of Ride 2 Recovery move through the final miles of the 62 mile trek from Fredericksburg, Virginia to Glen Allen, Virginia.
Riders of Ride 2 Recovery move through the final miles of the 62 mile trek from Fredericksburg, Virginia to Glen Allen, Virginia.

Olympic Cycling Team.  If that wasn’t cool enough, at the end of the long ride, we did a racing clinic with her. All I can think right now is “OMG”!!!

The adventure started in Fredericksburg, Virginia, and we rode through small towns on small side roads, passing horses, farming fields, families watching and waving, school children and teachers and other passersby. With the brightly shining sun, we rode through 90 degree heat, drinking loads of electrolytes and water as well as enjoyed another lunch provided by the USO.

Riders of Ride 2 Recovery move through the the 62 mile trek from Fredericksburg, Virginia to Glen Allen, Virginia.
Riders of Ride 2 Recovery move through the the 62 mile trek from Fredericksburg, Virginia to Glen Allen, Virginia.

Although yesterday I rode with D group, the least experienced riders, today I joined C group. Although the pace was a little faster, it was fun to chat and laugh through the 4 hour ride. We may be riding, but we are still socializing and having a blast. I’m debating a B group ride Friday. We’ll see how I feel come Friday!

So, the 62 miles I rode today were not the most I’ve done in a day, adding the  6 miles on with the race clinic pushed me 2 miles further than my single-day distance record.

Me!
Me!

Tomorrow we will ride from Glen Allen to Williamsburg, Virginia where I get a double present. My parents live nearby and I’ll get to see them! I am also looking at maybe doing my first century ride. Again, I’ll make that determination tomorrow based on how I feel.

For today, you can see many more photos on Facebook at Ride 2 Recovery. Like the page and enjoy the ride!

#R2RMemorialChallenge

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

